Middle States Association Awards First Service LearningProgram Of Distinction To WMA

Updated: Mar 21, 2019

Waldron Mercy Academy recently received recognition from the Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS) for its Program of Distinction Service Learning.

The Middle States Programs of Distinction initiative provides external validation of an accredited school’s accomplishments in specific areas of expertise and enables schools to take accreditation to the next level. Waldron Mercy Academy is the first school to receive a Program of Distinction recognition for Service Learning.

“Programs of Distinction are models for other academic programs throughout the world,” said Henry G. Cram, Ed.D., president of MSA-CESS. “I congratulate Waldron Mercy Academy for its commitment to service learning and for engaging students in meaningful activities that enable them to apply their classroom knowledge to real-life experiences that make a difference in the world around them.”

The Programs of Distinction review process helps already accredited schools identify strengths and areas for growth and provides inspiration and recommendations for attaining a high quality program.

The Service Learning Program of Distinction recognizes schools that integrate community service into the total school program, including the academic curriculum, through activities involving civic responsibility and citizenship.

“At Waldron Mercy, our students address the needs of others through acts of service. They learn to serve not merely out of charity, but from a developing sense of social justice,” said Principal Nell Stetser. “We are honored to be recognized by Middle States for our commitment to service learning and are proud of our school community for living the mission of the Sisters of Mercy.”

City Suburban News (page 7): https://issuu.com/citysuburbannews/docs/csn_5_10_17_issue


Waldron Mercy Academy

Waldron Mercy Academy, a Catholic school sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy, is a diverse, faith community rooted in the gospel values of mercy and justice. We are a school where the joy of discovery inspires serious study, social responsibility, and strong faith.

MESA_logo_inverted_box copy.png
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© Copyright 2023 by Waldron Mercy Academy. All Rights Reserved.


Contact Us